National Historic Registered Landmarks

Tohickon Family Campground is unique than most campgrounds, as there are two National Registered Historic Sites located at the entrance to Tohickon Family Campground.  Sheard's Mill Covered Bridge and Sheard's Mill share the distinct designation of National Historic Registered Landmarks and provide a picturesque backdrop to the natural and historic beauty Bucks County, the Philadelphia Countryside and The Greater Lehigh Valley have to offer.

Sheard's Mill Covered Bridge

 

(GPSN40’ 27.30”W75’ 16.71”) (#PA-09-06)

Located on Covered Bridge Rd, between Haycock and East Rockhill Townships. Constructed in 1873, by unknown builders. Sheard’sMill Bridge spans Tohickon Creek.One of Bucks County longer bridges, it is 130 ft long and 15 ftwide. The one span bridge uses the Town Truss and is painted the traditional red with a white entry, or portal.

Many covered bridges were built near mills for the convenience of farmers. In this

situation, the mill was built by David Sheard in 1835 and is still standing. During the 20th century, John Clymer owned the mill and continued to grind grain for feed and apples for cider until 1965. The cider press was in operation until 1985. The mill, is on the National Register and currently part of the Tohickon Family Campground.

 

Directions:

FromRt 313 and Rt 563 (MountainViewDr,which runs on the north side of

LakeNockamixon), go east for 0.9mi. Turn left onto Sterner Rd.Go 325 ft and

take the first right onto Richlandtown Rd and go 1.2mi. Take the first right onto Covered Bridge Rd 0.5mi.

Visit Bucks County Covered Bridge Society's website

Sheard's Mill

 

(GPSN40’ 27.30”W75’ 16.71”) (#PA-09-06)

Built by David Sheard in 1835, the Sheard's Mill is sitting untouched since it's closng in 1972.  Belts, wooden and metal gears, mill stones, flour dresser and water wheels still exist at the mill. During the 20th century, John Clymer owned themill and continued to grind grain for feed and apples for cider until 1965. The cider press was in operation until 1985. The mill, is on the National Register and was regsitered in 1986 through the efforts of Gerard Deegan (1942-2008) and currently is part of Tohickon Family Campground.

Directions:

FromRt 313 and Rt 563 (MountainViewDr,which runs on the north side of

LakeNockamixon), go east for 0.9mi. Turn left onto Sterner Rd.Go 325 ft and take the first

right onto Richlandtown Rd and go 1.2mi. Take the first right onto Covered Bridge Rd 0.5mi.